Workshops

From PACE Public Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Contents

Next Steps for the Path Computation Element Workshop

An organized activity of the PACE project. PACE: Next Steps in PAth Computation Element (PCE) Architectures: From Software-Defined Concepts to Standards, Interoperability and Deployment

PACE project web site

Meeting Info

09.00 Tuesday, February 17th, 2015 to 13.00 Wednesday, February 18th, 2015.

Hosted by Telefónica I+D

Coffee will be provided each day.
Lunch will be provided on Tuesday, and we hope you will join us for dinner on Tuesday evening.

Contact Details

For more information about the workshop please contact the co-organizers:

Objectives in Summary

The workshop sets the goal of concentrating researchers, developers, and standardization leaders in the area of Path Computation Element (PCE) architectures, an Internet Engineering Task Force standard framework. The purpose is to gather and establish a forum of world-leading thinkers, concentrated developers and all PCE enthusiasts, determined to rapidly facilitate the commercialization of advanced Internet technology, infrastructure and applications, and help software defined networking reach its full potential. Within the scope of the workshop is also an in-depth discussion on the value of open-source software, documentation and data repository. The findings and recommendations in the workshop will be written in form of a report, encompassing a number of related subjects including the vision for future research and standardization activities. The proposed workshop will promote the culture of visionary research and technology innovation and high-tech talent in Europe, as well as globally. The workshop is expected not only to gather, but also sustain a best-of-breed think-tank of leaders in this field, and more importantly, a community-led platform for innovation in network engineering and science. While all elements of this workshop come from focused disciplinary areas of emphasis, i.e. from a range of perspectives in Internet architectures, protocols, software engineering, or security, we see these perspectives as an opportunity that the resulting research vision will promote research across these disciplines with a whole-greater-than-sum-of-parts expectation.

Further details may be found on the PACE project web pages

Background on the Path Computation Element may be found at:

Preparatory Work

Each and every participant is asked to submit a one-page position statement in Word or PDF.
The statements must be submitted at least 24 hours in advance, although earlier submission will be welcomed.
Each statement will be published on this wiki and will be publically visible. Participants are therefore requested not to reserve copyright.

Why a Position Statement?

We want to achieve two things from your position statements:

  • We would like to help you prepare for the workshop so that you get as much as possible out of the two days. To do this, it will help if you spend a little time thinking about PCE, its future uses, and what you would like to get from the meeting.
  • We would like all of the participants to get to know each other a little before arriving at the meeting. A short position statement will give everyone a chance to understand the mindset and interests of all of the other participants.

What Do I Put in My Position Statement?

  • No More Than One Page!
  • Please tell us about how you think PCE may be applied to your particular area of interest. Or tell us how you think PCE might be grown to apply into new technologies. What excites you about the potential of PCE? What are its potential drawbacks?
  • You could approach this position statement by answering just one of the questions below, or you could provide short answers to more than one of them. But focus in on your key areas that you think PCE might grow into:
    • How to architect future networks with PCE and related protocols and network management subsystems?
    • What are the research challenges in domain areas of data, content, and wireless cellular and sensor technologies used in cyber physical systems?
    • What are the future applications and how can PCE help SDN fully succeed in legacy and open network environments? Which security and privacy considerations are needed to assess these applications?
    • What are the software engineering principles in developing PCE-based architectures?
    • How can the community assist EU and other funding bodies to increase the research impact and visibility in this area?
    • What are the next short-term and long terms needs and steps? How can they be identified?
    • How can the vision of the industrial and academic community be best articulated?

Agenda

From To Tue, Feb 17, 2015
09:00 09:30 Arrivals and Coffee
09:30 10:00 Welcome
  • Introductions and Scope of Workshop (Admela Jukan) (slides)
  • Logistics (Oscar Gonzales)
10:00 11:15 Invited Position Papers and Panel Discussion (Moderator: Adrian Farrel)
  • Diego Lopez, "Adding PCE to the Software Network Equation" (slides)
  • Young Lee, "The Role of PCE in Cross-Stratum Optimized Open Source Environment" (slides)
  • Mohit Chamania, "Engineering the open-source PCE ecosystem" (slides)
  • Questions to speakers and panel discussion
11:15 11:40 Coffee
11:40 13:00 Invited Position Papers and Panel Discussion (Moderator: Admela Jukan)
  • Vassilis Prevelakis "Elements of Trust in Multidomain PCE" (slides)
  • Pascal Thubert, "(6TiSCH) Applying PCE to (IPv6-based) Deterministic Networks (in IoT)" (slides)
  • David Meyer, "A Very Brief Introduction to Machine Learning and its Application to PCE" (slides)
  • Questions to speakers and panel discussion
13:00 14:30 Lunch
14:30 14:45 Introduction to Break-out Session (Adrian Farrel)
14:45 16:45 Parallel Break-out Groups on New Applications of PCE
16:45 17:15 Coffee
17:15 18:15 Break-out Group Reporting and Conclusions (Moderated by Adrian Farrel)
  • Overview (Adrian Farrel)
  • IoT, mobile, and wireless (Xavi Massip and all participants)
  • SDN, NFV, and SFC (Daniel King and all participants)
  • Flexible control of optical and transport networks (Ramon Casellas and all participants)
  • Open discussion
  • Summary of common threads
18:15 18:30 Planning for Day Two
  • Agenda and contributions (Admela Jukan)
  • Logistics (Oscar Gonzalez)
20:00 Dinner
From To Wed, Feb 18, 2015
08:30 09:00 Arrivals and Coffee
09:00 09:15 Welcome
  • Day Two Objectives (Admela Jukan)
  • Logistics (Oscar Gonzalez)
09:15 11:45 Capturing Break-out Group Findings and Recommendations (Moderate by Admela Jukan)
11:45 12:15 Coffee
12:15 12:40 Grand Challenges for PCE - Open Discussion (Moderated by Adrian Farrel)
12:40 12:55 Vision of the Future - Open Discussion (Moderated by Adrian Farrel)
12:55 13:00 Workshop Summary (Admela Jukan)

Attendees

The following people are registered to attend the workshop.

  • All attendees are by invitation only.
  • Substitutions are by agreement of the workshop organizers.
Name Affiliation Email Position Statement Notes
Joe J Mambretti ICAIR j-mambretti at northwestern.edu pdf
Chris Meyer Ericsson, DE christoph.meyer at ericsson.com pdf
Mohit Chamania ADVA mchamania at advaoptical.com pdf
Ben Niven-Jenkins Alcatel-Lucent ben at niven-jenkins.co.uk pdf
Jonathan Hardwick Metaswitch jonathan.hardwick at metaswitch.com pdf
Young Lee Huawei leeyoung at huawei.com pdf
Daniele Ceccarelli Ericsson daniele.ceccarelli at ericsson.com pdf
David Meyer Brocade dmm at 1-4-5.net See presentation
Pascal Thubert Cisco pthubert at cisco.com pdf
Pontus Sköldström Acreo pontus.skoldstrom at acreo.se pdf
Walter Haeffner Vodafone walter.haeffner at vodafone.com pdf
Ben Ward Love Hertz ben at love-hz.com pdf
Adam Bishop JANET adam.bishop at jisc.ac.uk
Franco Callegati University of Bologna franco.callegati at unibo.it pdf Unable to attend owing to sickness
Paul Wright British Telecom paul.3.wright at bt.com pdf
Vitor Barbosa Universitat Politecnica de Catalunya vbarbosa at ac.upc.edu pdf PACE Consortium Member
Xavi Masip Universitat Politecnica de Catalunya xmasip at ac.upc.edu pdf PACE Consortium Member
Ramon Casellas Centre Tecnològic de Telecomunicacions de Catalunya ramon.casellas at cttc.es pdf PACE Consortium Member
Oscar Gonzalez Telefónica I+D oscar.gonzalezdedios at telefonica.com Workshop co-organizer
Victor Lopez Telefónica I+D victor.lopezalvarez at telefonica.com PACE Consortium Member
Diego Lopez Telefónica I+D diego at tid.es PACE Consortium Member
Luis M. Contreras Telefónica I+D luismiguel.contrerasmurillo at telefonica.com PACE Consortium Member
Admela Jukan Technische Universitaet Braunschweig ajukan at me.com pdf Workshop co-organizer
Tamal Das Technische Universitaet Braunschweig t.das at tu-bs.de PACE Consortium Member
Marcel Caria Technische Universitaet Braunschweig m.caria at tu-bs.de PACE Consortium Member
Vassilis Prevelakis Technische Universitaet Braunschweig prevelakis at ida.ing.tu-bs.de pdf PACE Consortium Member
Adrian Farrel Old Dog Consulting adrian at olddog.co.uk pdf Workshop co-organizer
Daniel King Old Dog Consulting daniel at olddog.co.uk PACE Consortium Member
Francesco Paolucci Scuola Sant'Anna fr.paolucci at sssup.it pdf PACE Consortium Member
Andrea Sgambelluri Scuola Sant'Anna a.sgambelluri at sssup.it pdf PACE Consortium Member
Gino Carrozzo Nextworks g.carrozzo at nextworks.it pdf PACE Consortium Member
Olivier Dugeon Orange olivier.dugeon at orange.com pdf PACE Consortium Member
Julien Meuric Orange julien.meuric at orange.com pdf PACE Consortium Member

Workshop Report and Materials

The discussions, conclusions, and recommendations of this workshop were collected and published in the report: "PACE Madrid Workshop Report" (available to download from here), which includes all of the meeting materials including the position papers of the participants and the slides presented by our invited speakers.

Thanks

Many thanks to Telefonica for hosting the workshop and providing coffee and lunch. Dinner is provided by the PACE project.

.

Personal tools
Namespaces

Variants
Actions
Navigation
Toolbox